Don't Miss

mau5trap Recordings Drops ‘We Are Friends: Vol. 3’



Deadmau5’s label mau5trap has just released its third installment in the ‘We Are Friends‘ series which is aptly titled ‘We Are Friends: Volume 3‘. The album was released on the the 16th of February 2015 and features music from a number of relatively unknown artists signed to the label as well as a few others who have been around for a while such as FehrplayEnzo Bennet, and Eekkoo. Deadmau5 himself doesn’t appear on the project.

Volume 1 and 2 came out in 2012 and 2013 respectively and featured a lot of progressive house and electro. However, volume 3 seems to have taken a slightly different direction as it features quite a bit of electro and tech house. A trailer of the album was released via YouTube. It basically features a 5 minute mix of the tracks which appear on the album.

There’s a lot of speculation around the true identity of the artist who has the first track on the album, ATTLAS who’s also been credited for creating the mini mix. Many people believe that he is actually Deadmau5 and he’s releasing music under a different name. Part of the driving force behind the rumours is due to the fact that very little is known about the guy and because his track on the compilation album has a lot of stylistic similarities to Deadmau5’s work. You can listen to the mini mix in the YouTube video below. The project has a total of 11 tracks, all from different members of mau5trap Recordings.

mau5trap released a statement a few days ago promoting the album via their website. It was beleived that the album would come out in a few weeks at best but it came as a surprised to see is released just slightly iver 2 days after the initial announcement. The entire statement which was also released via the label’s SoundCloud page reads

dear horde,

this month it gives us great pleasure to bring you the third instalment of our We Are Friends concept. since day one, the compilation series has focused on giving exposure to new and exciting artists from all over the globe. vol 3 continues on that path. we’ll be introducing you to some fresh faces, but we’ve got some of our moar established mau5trap fam on there too. big thanks to all our artists for getting involved, and a little shout out to ATTLAS for the minimix trailer. no pre-orders or any of that jazz this time round; release date for the compilation is Monday 16th Feb, and it will be available on all your favourite purchasing and streaming sites. we hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed putting it together.

with love, mau5trap

The entire album is available for streaming on Spotify and you can listen to it in the widget below. You can also purchase it on iTunes and BeatPort. The entire tracklist is also shown just beneath the widget. There’s no word on Deadmau5 concerning new music at the moment. He has been in the media for his love of cars which he expresses openly. He recently bought a Jeep Wrangle Rubicon which he customized and posted has since posted pictures of it on the Internet. He’s also as busy as ever doing shows and festivals. You can see the list of a a few of his upcoming shows at the bottom of the page.

We Are Friends Vol. 3 – Tracklist
01. ATTLAS – “Sabs”
02. Eekkoo – “B61”
03. Enzo Bennet – “E1 6QL”
04. Ferhplay – “Pyara” (Live Edit)
05. Heat Maxwell – “Grind House”
06. James Njie – “Diode”
07. Matt Lange – “Scorched Earth Policy”
08. NEUS – “Amanita”
09. Pig&Dan – “Empty”
10. Proxy – “OldBoy”
11. Reid – “Blood”

Upcoming Deadmau5 Shows

05 Jun 2015 @ The Governors Ball, NYC
11 Jun 2015 @ BonnarooManchester, Tennessee
19 Jun 2015 @ Hurricane, Scheessel
19 Jun 2015 @ Southside, Neuhausen ob Eck
28 Aug 2015 @ Reading Festival, Reading
28 Aug 2015 @ Leeds Festival, Leeds

Comment from Facebook